Unofficial Thoroughbred Hall of Fame

Horses of the Year

Since 1887, Horse of the Year honors have been given to one hundred nine individual horses. Kelso held the title for five consecutive years. Forego won three times. Seventeen other horses were given the honor twice, Wise Dan most recently. Native Dancer and John Henry were the only two of these to hold the title in non consecutive years. On three occassions, the championship was shared. A tie breaking process was created in 1984, when it was used to break the tie between John Henry and Slew o' Gold. Only thirty one Kentucky Derby winners have been named Horse of the Year; many of those were so honored in a year other than their Derby win. Omaha is the only Triple Crown winner not to be named Horse of the Year.

For information on divisional champions, click on Eclipse.


To visit another portion of the Unofficial Thoroughbred Hall of Fame, choose below:

To visit another website, check out my links page.

Shop for Books